Didcot Town Council Awards 2018 - Friday 19th October 2018

On Friday 19th October 2018 Didcot Town Council held the annual Town Awards Evening to celebrate the local heroes that deserve a thank you for their contribution to our community. Now in its 26th year it was bigger and better than ever with lots of new award categories to reflect the breadth of contributions that are made.

On arrival the 150 or so invited guests were offered a welcome 'Bucks Fizz' and took their seats.

The evening commenced with the Didcot Rock Choir rocking the Civic Hall with some uplifting songs. The choir were exceptional and everybody agreed that they were a fantastic way to open the evening.

The new Community Awards were first to be presented by the Mayor, Cllr Bill Service and his Army Cadet Eloise Hollinshood, followed by the allotment awards and the John Eldridge Award for Voluntary Service.

Also invited to the evening were representatives from various groups that were awarded Grant Aid during the last year as a thank you for the work they do.

After all the awards were presented a buffet was available for those who wished to stay.

Please find below list of the winners and nomination's on the night:

Community Awards(names in bold are the winners)

Artistic / Cultural Award Nominees

Andrew Walker – Over 30 years' service at Saint Birinus School in the Music Department and arranging lots of concerts and inspiring new musicians

Viv O'Gara – for teaching children the art of Irish Dancing

Sporting Achievement Award

Jack Cummings - for representing the UK in the Invictus Games 2017 and winning a bronze in swimming

Sherryl Blowfield – for running 10 x 10 k marathons in 10 days

Didcot Parkrun – for arranging the weekly park event for runners of all ages/abilities

Young Volunteer / Charity Fundraiser Award

Jaymie Betteridge - for shaving her hair off for charity and raising £4700

Emily Smith & Saffron Simpson – Presidents of the Didcot Girls School Interact club that arrange charity fundraising events

Service with a Smile Award

Lorraine Turner - for her friendly and caring manner when dealing with a loved ones funeral

Kay Gee – for always being helpful and friendly to all his customers

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lyn Moore - 30 years' service at Stephen Freeman School and her support for the Royal British Legion

Andrew Walker – for arranging concerts at the school and for encouraging young new musicians

Unsung Hero Award

Simon Hart - 19 years volunteering and running a football team at an after school club

Allotment Awards

Best Plot Turnaround

Mr Harris – New Road

Mr Bradley – Mereland Road

Mr Ramaj – Broadway

Mr Giares – Mereland Road

Community Contribution

Ms Fradgley – New Road

Mr Tilley – Mereland Road

Fastest Learner

Mr Snape – New Road

Mrs Stocks & Mrs Ramsbottom – New Road

Mrs Chesterman & Mr Gill - Mereland Road

Happiest Animal

Ms Bracken – New Road

Best Plot (Winners)

Mrs Holt – Broadway

Mrs Dowsing – Cockcroft

Mr Quinton – Mereland Road

Ms Hunter – New Road

Mr West – Wantage Road

Best Overall Allotment Winner

Mr West – Wantage Road

Best Overall Allotment Site

Wantage Road

The John Eldridge Award for Voluntary Service

James Nesbit - for the many events he holds for disabled children, especially the Footsteps Foundation Charity

Sherryl Blowfield – for the money she raises for the Freddie Perry Foundation charity through her marathons

Andrew Baker – for setting up and Play2Give Charity and arranging many charity events

Courtney Hughes – for setting up the Secret Santa Charity and now a befriending service

We hope everybody who attended the evening enjoyed it and we look forward to next year.

If you would like to make a nomination for next year see the Didcot Town Council Awards page.

Please see below some photos taken on the night (sorry for the poor quality).