Faith in Service

Environment and Climate Committee

On Friday 1st May 2019 MPs passed a motion making the UK parliament the first in the world to declare an "environment and climate emergency". This was followed by the European Parliament declaring a 'Climate Emergency' on 28th November 2019.

On Monday 10th June 2019 Didcot Town Council declared support for the climate emergency with a task of working with the District Council to bring down our CO2 emissions both in production and consumption to reach carbon neutrality by 2030 and carbon zero by 2050.

To allow Didcot Town Council to focus on the climate emergency the Environment Committee was renamed the Environment and Climate Committee in May 2020 with the intentions of focusing on climate issues and solutions.

The Environment and Climate Committee meet every other month and the agendas and minutes of the meetings can be found HERE. If you wish to attend a meeting or would like any more information, please email

Members of the Environment and Climate Committee

Voting Committee Members:

Cllr Gavin Roberts (Chair)
Cllr Kelly Morrison (Vice Chair)
Cllr Stephen Cole
Cllr Andrew Jones
Cllr Tony Hudson
Cllr James Broadbent
Cllr Luke Hislop

Substitute Committee Members:

Cllr Chris Jennings
Cllr David Aragao
Cllr Hugh Macdonald
Cllr Zia Mohammed
Cllr Denise Macdonald
Cllr Mocky Khan
Cllr George Ryall

What does the Environment and Climate Committee do?

The following matters are delegated to the Environment and Climate Committee
(a) Administration of the Town Council Environment budget.
(b) The organisation of the management of the Council's Parks, Allotments, Cemeteries, Millennium Wood and any other open and green spaces under the jurisdiction of the Council.
(c) General environmental issues in and affecting the Town such as litter, grass verges, pavements, roads, recycling and footpaths and other similar matters.
(d) The Town's Christmas tree, lights and decorations.

The following matters are to be recommended to Council:
(e) Any policy issues connected with the environment of the town for which the Council has responsibility.

Last updated: Wed, 24 May 2023 13:49